Driving After a DWI in TX

In the event of a Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) arrest and charge in Texas, not only are you facing a conviction that includes jail time and fines, but also license suspension. Not being able to drive your vehicle to work, to school, or to conduct day-to-day activities can make life extremely difficult. However, there is a chance you may be able to recover your driving privileges – in a limited capacity.

The Administrative License Revocation (ALR) Program is a civil administrative process is not associated with criminal court proceedings. The ALR Program applies to individuals arrested for DWI and Boating While Intoxicated (BWI).

If you fail a breath or blood test, or you refuse to submit to one upon getting pulled over for DWI, a police officer will take your driver’s license and issue you a 40-day temporary driving permit.

Next, you have 15 days from the date of your arrest to challenge your pending ALR license suspension and request a hearing. If you do not request a hearing within the appropriate amount of time, your license will be suspended after 40 days.

If your request is received in time, the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) will mail you a letter which includes your hearing date, time, and location. If you fail to request a hearing in a timely manner, you will receive a denial notice in the mail.

Your best chance to get your driving privileges back is to obtain legal representation from an experienced DWI lawyer. At the Law Offices of Ruben Ortiz, our El Paso attorney understands what it takes to reinstate your license after a DWI charge or help you obtain a restricted occupational license or hardship driver’s license.

Do not hesitate to contact us and request a free consultation today.

Related Posts
  • What Are Common DUI Penalties in Texas? Read More
  • Understanding the Limitations of Field Sobriety Tests Read More
  • Texas Marijuana DWIs: How are They Proven? Read More