If your license was suspended as a result of being charged with a DWI in Texas, you can reinstate your license by satisfying the requirements set forth by the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and paying your reinstatement fees. However, the system itself can be quite complicated.
About Your Suspended License
When your driver’s license is suspended, the Texas DPS will mail you an enforcement notification. The length of your suspension will depend on the traffic or criminal offense. For example, if you are convicted of a DWI and you are 21 years of age or older, your license can be suspended for up to two years.
However, in addition to criminal charges and suspensions, you may experience for DWI, you can also face license suspensions under the Administration License Revocation (ALR) Program. If you fail a breath or blood test, or if you refuse to submit to one upon your arrest, a police officer can take your driver’s license and issue you a 40-day temporary driving permit.
You have 15 days from your arrest to challenge your pending ALR license suspension and request a hearing. If you do not request a hearing within this time limit, your driver’s license will be suspended after 40 days have passed.
Check Your Driver’s License Eligibility
You can check your driver’s license status on the DPS website. In addition, you can also see any fees you owe and any documents or items you need to submit.
Within 20 days of a license suspension, you are able to request a hearing to contest it. If your request is received in time, the DPS will mail you a letter which contains your hearing date, time, and location. You will receive a denial notice in the mail if you request a hearing past the deadline.
Reinstating your Driver’s License
When your driving privileges are suspended, you must wait out your suspension period, complete your requirements, and pay your fees in order to have your driver’s license fully reinstated.
How a Lawyer Can Help You
Many people find that their situation is too complex to figure out and resolve on their own. At the Law Offices of Ruben Ortiz, our El Paso criminal lawyer understands what it takes to get you back on the road sooner than the court anticipates.
We can possibly help you obtain early reinstatement with the completion of an alcohol treatment program. Other potential reduced penalties include granting a limited suspension where you are allowed to drive to work, school, community service, and other activities, as well as getting driving permission if you agree to place an ignition interlock device in your car.
If you require experienced legal assistance to get your driving privileges back, contact us and request a free consultation today.