In Texas, there is no charge specific to auto theft. Instead, theft of
a vehicle falls under the general larceny statute, which bases theft charges
on the value of the stolen property. Auto theft is typically charged as
a felony because the value of a vehicle usually exceeds the limit for
Felony theft charges have serious consequences if you are convicted. It
is important that your lawyer is prepared to aggressively defend you.
At the Law Offices of Ruben Ortiz, we have considerable experience fighting
all types of
theft crimes. Attorney Ortiz has been protecting the rights of individuals in Texas
since 1998. He can help you contest felony and misdemeanor auto theft charges.
You Could Face A Prison Sentence If Convicted
Theft charges are based on the value of the stolen property. You can be
charged with a misdemeanor for stealing less than $1,500 worth of goods.
It is rare that a vehicle is worth less than $1,500 so auto theft is most
often charged as a felony.
Theft crimes in Texas are charged in the following way:
|Value of stolen goods
|$50 to $499
||class B misdemeanor
|$500 to $1,499
||class A misdemeanor
|$1,500 to $19,999
||state jail felony
|$20,000 to $99,999
|$100,000 to $199,999
|$200,000 or more
Conviction for a state jail felony for auto theft includes penalties of
180 days to two years in jail and/or a fine up to $10,000. Conviction
for a third-degree felony for auto theft includes penalties of two to
10 years in prison and/or a fine up to $10,000.
Speak With A Defense Attorney Today
Contact us today at 915-308-8850 for a free consultation with an El Paso auto theft