Statutory Rape in Texas
What is the Age of Consent in Texas?
Statutory rape is a
sex crime that occurs when an individual has consensual sex with someone under the
age of consent. In Texas, the age of consent is 17 years old, which means
that those aged 16 or younger are not legally able to consent to sexual
activity. However, there is a close-in-age exception which allows an individual
to have sex with someone under 17 as long as the older person is not more
than three years older than the minor.
Penalties for Statutory Rape
In Texas, statutory rape includes sexual penetration and sexual contact
between an adult and someone younger than 17.
The sex crime is broken down into the following three categories:
Aggravated sexual assault – Any sexual penetration of a minor under the age of 14, which is
considered a first-degree felony that results in a prison sentence between
five and 99 years in prison.
Sexual assault – Any sexual penetration of a minor who is 17 or younger and an adult
who is more than three years older than the victim is considered a second-degree
felony, punishable by a prison sentence ranging from two to 20 years.
Indecency with a child – Sexual contact and touching other than penetration with a minor
who is 17 or younger and an adult who is more than three years older than
the victim is a second-degree felony.
Call (915) 308-8850 to Schedule a Free Consultation Today
Being convicted of these serious charges could result in the loss of your
freedom and registration as a sex offender for the rest of your life. At the
Law Offices of Ruben Ortiz, our
El Paso criminal defense attorney can review your case and determine all of your available legal options
to either get your charges reduced or your entire case dismissed.
Contact us and discuss your case with our legal team today.