DWI with Child Passenger in Texas
Experienced, Dedicated & Trustworthy Legal Representation
Being charged with a
DWI can be a frightening experience since you will be facing severe consequences.
However, if you are charged with a DWI while a minor or child is a passenger
in your car, the repercussions are much more significant.
Law Offices of Ruben Ortiz, our El Paso criminal defense lawyer is capable of helping you get your
charges reduced or your case entirely dismissed. When you decide to enlist
our supportive assistance, we can go above and beyond in order obtain
the results you desire.
DWI with Child Passenger Penalties
According to Texas Penal Code § 49.045, if a person operates a vehicle
while intoxicated on a public road with a child passenger who is under
15 years of age, they can be charged with DWI with a Child Passenger in
Texas. It is considered a state jail felony, which is punishable by a
jail sentence between 180 days and two years and a fine of up to $10,000.
Not only will you be facing harsh penalties, but this type of crime can
be construed as a form of child endangerment or abuse, which could potentially
result in removing the child from you custody by the Texas Department
of Family and Protective Services.
Let Our El Paso Criminal Defense Lawyer Fight For You
In addition to the criminal punishment, having a DWI with a Child Passenger
charge on your permanent record can make it difficult to take advantage
of life’s opportunities, such as gain employment or purchase a new
nearly 20 years of legal experience,
Attorney Ortiz has achieved an excellent track record of success. He has proven time
and time again that he has what it takes to help you put this mistake
behind you for good.
Contact our firm and schedule your complimentary consultation today.