Did you get a call in the middle of the night about your child getting
arrested for a
DUI? Perhaps he or she arrived home hours after the ordeal took place and
now you’re trying to determine what to do next.
In Texas, DUI charges are specifically reserved for minors under 21 years
of age, whereas DWI charges are typically made against people over 21
years old. Fortunately, minor drivers
do not face jail time if they are eventually convicted of the DUI charge. Since it is considered
a Class C misdemeanor, the penalties for a conviction include probation,
a fine of up to $500, driver’s license suspension for months or
years, community service, and substance abuse treatment.
In addition to the criminal penalties associated with a Texas DUI, the
following are the additional consequences your child may experience if
High financial cost. A DUI conviction can result in increased insurance premiums for a high-risk
policy for years to come and high reinstatement fees before your child
can have their license back.
Employment difficulties. A DUI conviction can be seen on a criminal record or background check,
which can limit your child’s future job opportunities.
University sanctions. If your son is a college student, they may face more punishment from
their school. A DUI conviction may invalidate certain scholarships.
If your son, daughter, or another family member is facing a DUI charge
in Texas, our experienced legal team at the
Law Offices of Ruben Ortiz is committed to protecting his or her rights and future. Our El Paso attorney
has nearly two decades of legal experience and has successfully handled
various DWI and DUI charges on behalf of our clients. We are committed
to working with your child to understand the facts surrounding his or
her arrest and will vigorously seek the most favorable outcome possible.
Contact us and schedule a
free consultation right away!